In my open letter, I asked for legal assistance and was fortunate to be introduced to two outstanding lawyers. Maryland has no statute of limitations for any felony sex crime. Furthermore, I did not realise at the time, that there was only a 1-year statutory time limit to take action once a police report had been filed. Criminal Prosecutions for Sexual Abuse For criminal cases, a prosecutor may file a charge of aggravated rape at any time, with no limitation in California, an aggravated rape is rape that involves a weapon, more than one person, or seriously injures the victim. If the victim is under 16 and reports within 72 hours of the crime, there is no statute of limitations. Additionally, if a person is subject to "threats, intimidation, manipulation or fraud perpetrated by the abuser or by any person acting in the interests of the abuser", the statute of limitations will not run during this period. While one of the offenders still received a five-year prison term, the sentence was markedly shorter than it would have been in other EU states. This campaign is very personal to me. The California legislature is constantly debating about this, so the law may change in the near future. Civil Lawsuits for Sexual Abuse In California, the filing of a civil claim of sexual abuse must be made within 8 years of the age of majority meaning before your 26th birthday. While Minnesota's reporting requirement really a clause, as reporting isn't mandatory does not punish the victim for not reporting, but rather increases the statute of limitations if they do report. Tennessee Has this state eliminated the statute of limitations for all felony sex crimes? However, given that many of the injuries associated with childhood sexual abuse, including sexual dysfunction, do not manifest themselves until much later in life, the statute of limitations during this period had the effect of barring many meritorious claims and allowing many abusers to escape civil liability. Virginia has no statute of limitations for any felony sex crime. South Carolina has no statute of limitations for any felony sex crime.